類別:文學小說/懸疑驚悚小說.
 (版權窗口 繁體:競價中不開放 簡體: David  )
MIRRORLAND: A Novel
鏡中國度
版本: 2020 年 4 月  Scribner出版
相關連結:
內容介紹

★倫敦書展曝光度與討論度最熱的小說(書展第一天Bookseller第一頁就重推這本小說)

也許所有人的童年回憶都是一樣的,部分真實,而部分充斥著虛幻。「但在這個房子,我們的母親和她的故事,將我們的想像轉換成一個偽造工廠的產物,鑄融、再製,直到後來,我才逐漸意識到,原來任何來自這裡的事物,都不能輕易相信……。」

威斯特路67號,一棟宏偉的平板石房子坐落在愛丁堡郊區,歪曲的陰影、搖搖欲墜的建築體、血紅色外牆,這是凱特(Cat)與愛爾(El))姊妹童年時期的家。每個夜晚,女孩們從樓梯一溜煙而下,來到「鏡地」(Mirrorland),在這裡所有的一切都將活生生的躍然這個真實世界。「鏡地」是個想像中飛船、小丑、巫婆躲藏的小窩,也是個躲避現實世界的魔幻天堂。
就在30多歲之時,在某個晴天早晨凱特收到一則消息,迫使他不得不面對曾經的過往:雙胞胎接妹愛爾搭乘小帆船出港,自此音訊全無。接獲噩耗,凱特連忙飛往洛杉磯,回到威斯特路,一個幾乎被遺忘,充滿謊言、貪念、背叛的世界。凱特必須抽絲剝繭,檢視那潛藏20多年秘密背後的真實,獲得艾爾遺留寶藏裡頭的線索,解開艾爾失蹤之謎,並再次警惕:凱特啊,別忘了童年時期的真實絕非如雙眼所見!

一部精心布局的懸疑小說,勾勒想像力的力量、自由的價值,和獨一無二的動人情節。作者C.L. 約翰史東首部小說作品,如果你也對艾琳.凱莉的《毒樹》,或是塔娜·法蘭琪的,黛安.賽特菲爾德的《第十三個故事》深感著迷的話,那《鏡地》將是你不可錯過,值得偋氣閱讀的最佳選擇。

Perhaps everyone’s childhood memories are the same: part truth, part fantasy. But this house and our mother and her stories, turned our imagination into a melting pot, a forge. A cauldron. And, I’m beginning to realise, I can trust nothing that came out of it.

No.67 Westeryk Road, an imposing flat-stone house on the outskirts of Edinburgh, childhood home to sisters Cat and El; a house of curving shadows, crumbling grandeur and blood crimson walls. But it’s what lies under the house that is extraordinary. Every night the girls escape below the stairs to Mirrorland, a vivid make-believe world. A hidden den of imaginary pirate ships, clowns and witches. A place of escape.

Now in her thirties, Cat has turned her back on her past and fled to LA when she receives news that one sunny morning, El left harbour in her sailboat and never came back. Forced to return to Westeryk Road, a forgotten world of lies, lust, and betrayal, Cat must uncover the truth behind a secret that has been hidden for over twenty years. Because El has a plan. She’s left her sister a treasure hunt in a bid to help her remember the realities of a childhood that wasn’t what it seemed.

Mirrorland is a sharply crafted mystery about the power of imagination and the price of freedom. The evocative touches of Rebecca meets the poignant originality of Room. For fans of Erin Kelly’s The Poison Tree, Tana French’s THE WYCH ELM and The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield.

作者介紹

卡蘿兒•約翰史東(Carole Johnstone 或C. L. Johnstone),逾十年內發表了數部得獎短篇小說。她的短篇小說已由多家出版社出版,麥克米倫(Tor Macmillan)、西蒙與舒斯特(Simon & Schuster)等出版社出版,她也為珀爾修斯出版公司旗下的Running Press,與康斯特堡&羅賓森出版社(Constable & Robinson)撰寫夏洛克.福爾摩斯的故事。《鏡中國度》是她的小說處女作。

C. L. Johnstone has been publishing award-winning short fiction for more than ten years and has been regularly reprinted in Prime Books’ Year’s Best, Night Shade Books’ Best of and Best of the Best series in the US, and Salt Publishing’s Best British series. She has been published by Titan Books, Tor Macmillan, Simon & Schuster, and PS Publishing, and has written Sherlock Holmes stories for Constable & Robinson and Running Press. MIRRORLAND is her first novel. Carole lives in Lanarkshire, Scotland with her husband.
https://carolejohnstone.blogspot.com/

海外授權

已授權
美國 (Scribner, 六位數美元預付金拿下版權,預定2020年春季作為主打小說)
英國 (The Borough Press, 六位數美元預付金拿下版權,預定2020年春季作為主打小說)
法國 (Fleuve Noir,預定2021年1月作為主打小說)
荷蘭 (Xander)
巴西 (Record)

電視版權賣給Heyday in association with Universal (production team behind films including the Harry Potter franchise, Gravity and The Light Between the Oceans)

仍在競價的國家:
俄羅斯
波蘭
義大利